
UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
---------------------------------------------------------x
In re: :

:
PROCEDURES FOR PAYMENT AND : Amended General Order M-311
CURE OF PRE-PETITION JUDGMENT :
OF POSSESSION INVOLVING : M-352
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY :
---------------------------------------------------------x

WHEREAS, the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005, as
codified in 11 U.S.C. §§ 362(b)(22) and 362(l), creates certain rights and obligations with
respect to the cure of a monetary default giving rise to a pre-petition judgment of possession
regarding residential property in which the debtor resides as a tenant under a lease or rental
agreement, it is hereby 

ORDERED, that the debtor shall be deemed to have complied with 11 U.S.C. § 362(l)(1)
by:

1. Making the required certification by completing the four check boxes, including
the landlord's name and address, listed in the voluntary petition under the
section entitled “Statement by a Debtor who Resides as a Tenant of Residential
Property”; and

2. Delivering to the Clerk, together with the petition (or within one day of the
            filing, if the petition is filed electronically)  (a) a certified or cashier’s check
            or money order, made payable to the lessor, in the amount of any rent that would
            become due during the 30 day period after the filing of the petition, and (b) a 
            copy of the judgment of possession; and it is further

            ORDERED, that if the debtor complies with the preceding paragraph, the Clerk of the
             Court shall, within one business day, send notice of compliance to the lessor who shall then have
             the option, exercisable within ten days of the date of the notice, (1) to consent to receive the
             check in which event the lessor shall provide payment instructions, or (2) object to the debtor’s
             certification, which objection shall constitute a request for a hearing; and it is further 



  ORDERED, that if the lessor does not respond within the 10 day deadline, the lessor
  shall be deemed to have consented to receive the check, and the Clerk shall send the check to the
  lessor at the address set forth in the debtor’s certification. 

  Dated: New York, New York
  April 28, 2008    

     /s/ Stuart M. Bernstein      
STUART M. BERNSTEIN    

Chief United States Bankruptcy Judge


